Day 7: Crockpot Taco Chicken Chili

Yum - Taco chili dinner

Yum – Taco chili dinner

Well, I’m back to work after a great weekend and expect a challenging week, so I really need to stay on track.  I have everything mapped out and have decided that I need to get more targeted, rather than jumping around the house in a helter-skelter way.

Now that my youngest daughter Brooke has gone back to college, I’m going to concentrate on her room.  We’ve been working on updating this room for over a year.  I got around 80% done, but then she came back home for the summer.  After that there were about three months when I couldn’t see the floor, let alone the décor!

Right before Christmas I finally put up some curtains and made a little more progress.  All that’s needed now are some finishing touches and one more major project that will require the help of the man we like to call “Big Daddio”.  I don’t want to say too much about this in case I can’t get him on board, even though I’m SURE it’s a genius idea.  I’ll let you know how it goes by the end of the week!  In the meantime, I’m going to finish all the long-delayed decorating and call this room a wrap.  I’ll reveal all my great ideas over the next few days, so check back often.

For today’s project, I’ve chosen another Crockpot recipe for dinner.  I figured that with all the things I have to do there’s no way I can come home and cook dinner.

The recipe is Taco Chicken CrockPot Chili.  This was really EASY and GOOD. No pre-cooking or extra pans.  The only thing I’d do differently next time is add more jalapeno.  By the way, I stuck the garlic, onion and jalapeno in my food processor and chopped it all up at the same time, then dumped everything in the Crockpot and set the timer for 7 hours.

What I found when I got home from work - smelled great!

What I found when I got home from work – smelled great!

After I got home and smelled the deliciousness in my kitchen, all I had to do was shred the chicken in the pot.  Then I popped some cornbread in the oven, started a pot of rice and whipped up a  batch of my favorite margaritas.  I found this recipe on AllRecipes.com quite awhile ago and thinks it’s superior to any other I’ve found.  I’ve attached the link to this in case you want to try them.  By the way, my husband got a Margaritaville Margarita machine for Christmas from our daughters.  I didn’t think we really needed this, but it’s surprising how many times in the last few weeks there’s been a pressing need for a Margarita!

What's  Margaita Monday without a Margarita?

What’s Margaita Monday without a Margarita?

So right now we’re wearing sombreros and dancing to mariachi music in the living room.

Just kidding!  Actually, I’m on my way upstairs to see if I can get some work done before the two hour season premiere of The Bachelor.  After that, all bets are off!

One thought on “Day 7: Crockpot Taco Chicken Chili

  1. This entry has inspired me to take the upper hand in directing the redo of Lissa’s room. Tom accomplished the repainting, and I bought a few bed items, but we need to get the rest of the plan in action! I will be following your progress in Brooke’s room to see what ideas I can borrow.

Leave a Reply

