Day 1: Crock Pot Tuscan Sausage Spinach Soup

New Year's Day Lunch

New Year’s Day Lunch

This blog came about as a part of my 2013 New Year’s resolution.  I was looking at Pinterest and thinking (as I’m sure we all do) – hey, I should do that project.  Then I thought – hey, I really should DO the project instead of just thinking about doing it.  From that, grew my idea to do one project per day for the whole year.  In getting this started, it turns out that apparently a lot of other people have had this idea but that’s ok with me because this is really for my own motivation.  I’ve already big-mouthed this idea to a number of my relatives and it’s going to be humiliating if I don’t keep up with it.

Fortunately my daughter (who works in Social Media Marketing) happened to be staying with me this week and helped set up this blog.  Because honestly if that part was left up to me, I would probably have to scotch tape a stick figure drawing onto a piece of paper and scan it.  In other words, technology isn’t my strongest suit and she has already pointed out the shortcomings of my computer, internet provider and smartphone.  But that’s part of the point of this – to stretch my boundaries and try a lot of new things in the coming year.  And this year just happens to be the year that I will become a grandmother for the first time, so I need to develop lots of new “grand-motherly” skills.

Another interesting part of this project is that right now my husband is sitting in the den watching football games and blissfully unaware of all the projects I have in mind that he’s going to have to help with!  There’s no way I can do all the painting, refinishing, drilling, cutting,etc that will be required without a LOT of help (from him).  So in a way, I’ve helped him make his resolutions too!

But enough about that and on to my first project – a delicious Tuscan Sausage Spinach Soup.  As expected, I found the recipe on Pinterest and have provided the link below.  I will say that it turned out DELICIOUS and my husband and son-in-law both liked it a lot.  Here are a couple of suggestions I would make if you are thinking of trying this:

1)  This makes A LOT of soup (take a look at the picture of all the little lunch-size leftovers we have after enjoying the soup for lunch). I would recommend cutting the recipe in half unless you really like leftovers.  I don’t see why you couldn’t, as a lot of the ingredients are doubled, such as two cans of tomatoes and two cans of beans.  The next time I try this, that’s what I will do.

Lots of leftovers!

Lots of leftovers!

2)  I started my soup in a big pot of on the stove and then transferred to my Crock-Pot for the rest of the morning.  If you want to leave it during the day and come home to delicious smelling soup, I would recommend adding the pasta at the end to avoid mushiness.   That said, I added the pasta and then had it in the Crock-Pot for several hours and it didn’t seem too mushy.

3)  One thing I like to do with all my soups is use my immersion blender to mush it up a little at the end.  It just gives it a better texture as far as I’m concerned.  However, I broke my immersion blender before Christmas trying to use it to mix up cookie dough.  This is a BAD idea and I definitely don’t recommend.  But anyway, as an alternative I put a little of the soup in my food processor and mixed it up and then re-added to the soup.  I thought it was wonderful served with Parmesan cheese and some good chewy bread.

Thanks for reading.  We’ll see what I come up with tomorrow.  I have to go back to work, so it will have to be something pretty easy.

Where I found this recipe: http://feastonthecheap.net/tuscan-sausage-soup/

4 thoughts on “Day 1: Crock Pot Tuscan Sausage Spinach Soup

  1. Well, this looks like a great start! And if you lose interest in the cooking part, your writing is amusing enough on its own! I got quite a few chuckles reading through your blog. I will follow you with great pinterest!

  2. Great blog!! I made this soup last night, and it was delicious–a perfect warm-up for the super frigid weather we are having right now! Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

